Hard As It Gets

Hard as It Gets (Hard Ink, #1)Nick Rixey is ex military and is now working part time at his brothers Tattoo shop. The last thing he thought he would be doing was helping his ex-commander’s daughter find her brother. Nick wanted to say no to this woman but the thought of clearing his name and his men was too tempting. He needed to find her brother and whatever information the brother had recovered.

Becca Merritt needed to find her brother. She went to the only man she thought could help, Nick Rixey. She knew of him as a member of her fathers men and knew he would be able to handle anything that would come their way. Becca wasn’t expecting to find out that there were secrets that her father had been holding.

Hard As It Gets is the first book to the series Hard Ink by Laura Kaye. I found myself absolutely enthralled with the book. Laura Kaye is a new author for me and I really like her style of writing. The plot itself is grittier than I had originally thought it would be, which was a pleasant surprise.

Her ex-military characters are hard driven men with muscles and tough attitudes who are driven to clear their names. Nick was a hard man and mistrustful to any Merritt but he takes a chance on Becca. Now Becca was a sweet and wholesome but she was brave when she needed to be and to save her brother she needed to be. In the midst of danger sparks start to fly with Becca and Nick. They will heat of the sheets which will sizzle, but I also liked their interaction that were just with them bantering back and forth on what to do next.

Towards the end of the book I was wondering if the mystery of what Becca’s father had been up to would be solved but it appears this will be an on going mystery. I am guessing that it will be solved and these men will be cleared of any charges at the end of the series. I am sometimes annoyed when that happens but I thought that Kaye unwinds parts of the mystery very well and leaves me intrigued. That intrigue makes me want to read the next one to find the next clue and incidentally I will be reading the second book right after this one.

Leave a Reply

