The Luckiest Lady in London

The Luckiest Lady in LondonFelix Rivendale, the Marquess of Wrenworth, had felt disappointment since he was a child as he was used by one parent and hated by another. Felix will grow up and act like the perfect man but like a man he has his own appetites and when he sees Miss Louisa Cantwell he wants her and will do what he needs to obtain her.

Miss Louisa Cantwell needed to marry and needed to marry well. She had to take care of her family. She will be shocked to have gained the attention of the Marquess of Wrenworth but knows he only wants her as a mistress. She will deny him that but with every time he pursues her, her resistance will crumble and will soon not deny him anything. She will be shocked what he proposes next.

The Luckiest Lady in London is the first book by Sherry Thomas from the series London. I will admit I was not really interested in this book in the beginning. I was flipping pages and just reading. I wasn’t connecting with the characters but that does change once you truly get to know them. I started to really like this book. I wanted that happy ending that I knew would come at the end, you just had to get through all those obstacles.

I am shocked by Felix with what he puts Louisa through and the deceit that is continually placed in the book. I understood why but it amazed me to the extent he did. I was annoyed with him as he pursued her relentlessly then he was like a cold fish. He knew he was screwing up but like a train wreck he kept going. Louisa was a strong woman and determined to find herself a husband, even one that she didn’t love. She is blindsided by Felix but she keeps her head held high which helps her  keep her wits around him.

The villain was clearly Felix as he was his own worst enemy. He was punishing himself by not giving himself a chance at happiness thanks to his parents. Don’t worry though as there will be a happy ending to occur, it will just take Felix and Louisa to connect with each other.

Based on this novel I would definitely be willing to read more from Sherry Thomas.

2 thoughts on “The Luckiest Lady in London

  1. Gayle, I see you didn’t like this one as much as I did. I loved the writing so much that I gave it 5-stars.

    • After I got into the book it started to flow and then I began to enjoy the book. I guess it took me a little longer to get into the book. But you are right about Sherry Thomas’s writing Dot, it is very good.

Leave a Reply

