When She Said I Do

When She Said I DoMiss Calliope Worthington will stumble upon a large house, walk in and help herself to some jewelry. She wasn’t going to take it as she just wanted to try it on. She will be caught by the master of the house and she will be shocked by what he demands.

Mr. Ren Porter caught a woman red handed and instead of kicking her out of his house he tells her to pay him back she would have to spend one night per pearl on the necklace around her neck. Ren is humored by this thought but will be shocked at the next day that she agrees to his demands.

When She Said I Do is the first book to the series Worthington by Celeste Bradley. Bradley is not a new author for me as I have read her before but it has been about two years. The lapse in time is not due to Bradley’s writing as I like her as an author. The problem is I like a lot of authors and there is only so much time I have available to read. That being said I very much enjoyed this story. Think Beauty and the Beast but this is not a G rated, think more x-rated at times at least during those moments Callie and Ren are exploring their desires. It makes sense that this book was going this route as Callie had to give one night to Ren for each pearl from the pearl necklace.

What I liked about this story was that the characters of Callie and Ren were more than they appeared. Ren with his work as a spy and Callie’s view on romance which had stayed hidden from her family. Together they should have crashed but they were able work together, to find that peace as she was his light. There was also the raw desire they made each other feel which helped the situation, and because of Callie’s willingness Ren becomes stronger.

The family was not the ideal one that you would want helping. In fact they really don’t help all that much as they let Callie take the brunt of it. At the core of these family members they are good people, if not misguided, but they did annoy me at times. You wanted to shake them and stop them from anything else that could happen.

Now what would a love story be without your obstacles and villains. Obstacles were clearly Callie’s accidents that kept happening around her. It looked like she was mad but someone was clearly after her. The person after her was pretty clear but there were others that could have been dealing in this mischief that would be the downfall of Callie’s life. Now Callie was a Worthington and now Porter, and she would not go down without a fight.

Towards the end this book talked about a Liar’s Club and as I looked around I found one of Celeste Bradley’s series called Liar’s Club. The workings of spies can sometimes be a tad bit boring for me but I think with how Bradley spins her tales this would be something to try. Not to mention I will have to try out the second book to this Worthington series even though I am hesitant as this family drives me a little crazy.

Leave a Reply

