The Fault In Our Stars

The Fault in Our StarsHazel fights cancer everyday of her life as it is part of her. She knows that she will die one day and doesn’t want to leave anyone in pain when she is no longer around. She is content until she meets Augustus Walters who is a survivor and one who wants to know more about her. With cancer battling between them they find a way to love and to give love.

The Fault in Our Stars is a bestseller by John Green and has been turned into a movie. To be perfectly honest I tried this book out of curiosity thanks to the trailer I kept seeing played over and over on commercial breaks, the song with the trailer kept replaying in my head. The trailer was very uplifting but I knew that there was a sadness to this book. After reading this book I am going to be waiting for the movie to come onto DVD as I am sure I will cry and I don’t want to cry with an audience.

So first let me say that I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was well written and Green writes a captivating plot that has you reading from the beginning to the end. Its funny as this would be a perfect book for my book club but this time I picked it out on my own. This book is definitely out of my normal realm of historical romances with the contemporary romances thrown in, but I am happy to have read it.

These are characters who know that their time will end someday especially as they see others loosing the battle to survive their cancer. This story is about the possibility of love and that all powerful love that you can have even when life is anything but pleasant. I wouldn’t say much on what was going on with these characters but I will say I cried a lot towards the end but it wasn’t because it was so sad, it was, it was also by how Green ended the book. It was sad yet uplifting and it just ended the right way with all that had happened in the book.

Will I be trying another book from John Green? I honestly don’t know if I will, but it wouldn’t be because of his very well written plot. It is because the book got to me emotionally and I guess with the romance books I have read do not always go to that strong of emotion. If I do it will probably be later on so I can get this book out of my head.

Now for those who don’t mind some crying I recommend giving The Fault in Our Stars a try, it really is worth the read.

2 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars

  1. I have not yet read this book but I’ve heard so much about it that I think I would be remiss if I didn’t give it a try. A good cry now and then is good for the soul.

Leave a Reply

