When A Duke Says I Do

When a Duke Says I DoMiss Elsie Stanhope was destined to be married to a duke as a contact was drawn up years ago. Elisa will honor the agreement but wanted to just once live a little and find love. She will soon being finding that exact thing in an apprentice painter Alexander.

When A Duke Says I Do is a novel by the author Jane Goodger. Alright now I don’t know if I was just in a mood not to read or what but I found that this was not really pulling me to read the story. I knew right away who Alexander really was so there was no mystery to who he really was.  There was his story that was interesting as Goodger did provide an interesting and tragic background for Alex who had to survive through it. The character of Elisa was a little too silly for me and even Alexander at times. Their love was blown up on the pages and it was at times a little too cute.

I was happy that they did eventually have a happy ending but I couldn’t say I was totally invested in this book. I will still try another novel by Jane Goodger so I am not just judging my experience from one of her books.

2 thoughts on “When A Duke Says I Do

  1. Gayle, sometimes all it takes is one “not enjoyable” book to put me off an author.

Leave a Reply

