Once Upon a Winter’s Eve

once upon a winter's eveViolet Winterbottom was sent to Spindle Cove like many other girls before her but not many went to find out if they were expecting a child. Violet gave the one thing she was supposed to give to a husband to the man she loved. Crushed that he left Violet knew to get on with her life. It has now been a year and she was to come back into society but on her last night at Spindle Cove a man will stagger into the ballroom and fall at her feet.

Once Upon a Winter’s Eve is a novella in the Spindle Cove series from Tessa Dare who really can’t go wrong with her books. It seems no matter what I will just keep reading from this author. With her two novellas that I have read I loved them and very quick to read. I read about Diana and Aaron first as I was waiting for this one to come available.

What surprised me with this novella was that there was a lot going on. It was non stop action once you found out that this mystery man was indeed the man that Violet loved. It was interesting as it did not seem like it but he quickly clears up the confusion, that is once they are away from others who would be listening to them. I liked that this dealt with a little espionage which gave a little more action to the book. Violet was a great character as she was very smart and knew many languages which helped her understand the intruder/Christian.

I was wondering how the ending would play out as Christian was a spy and needed to keep his identity intact. I was pleasantly surprised with the ending which lets Christian and Violet have an adventure along with a happy ending.

I can’t wait to read my next book from Tessa Dare. I don’t have anything in mind right now but I know eventually I will get back to the author.

Leave a Reply

