Texas Brides

The Rancher & the Runawy Bride

Tate Whitelaw was tired of being under her brothers thumbs and wanted to have a chance at love. She will leave the family ranch and find herself living at a new ranch who will be owned by a rancher who will have her heart raising.

Adam Phillips owned Lazy S ranch and worked the land. He will find Tate on the side of the road and take her home with him and put her to work at his ranch. He will fight his attraction but the fight will not last long.

When I got this book I thought it was the first book to the series Mail-Order Bride and I was completely wrong as it contained two stories  so I made sure to order the right book from my library. So that first book hopefully I will get to read soon. Now back to this book, The Rancher and the Runaway Bride, which was a good book from Joan Johnston. It is the second book to the series Hawk’s Way Family. There was something I didn’t like about the book and that was the men were way to dominating when it came to Tate. I get that she was their sister and I get it from Adam with what happened with his sister. I thought Johnston didn’t need them to be so commanding but it will all worked out for the characters especially Tate when she works away those problems that kept her getting close to Adam.

Texas Brides

The Bluest Eyes in Texas

Burr Covington was an undercover agent who was infiltrated in the Texas Mafia. His next assignment will lead him to help kidnap the Governor’s daughter but he will risk it all and save Lindsey Major.

This was a story story from the author, actually both of these stories were rather short. I was able to fly through them as combined they reached 250 pages. So Burr and Lindsey were put in a difficult and dangerous situation but through it all they found that passion that resided between them. I almost wish this was a longer story to give the characters more time to have their say and for the plot to breath. Johnston does provide a story with them but it was very fast paced.

Overall both stories were fun to read and I am looking forward to reading more books from this author.

Leave a Reply

