Sugar Rush

Sugar RushLeilani “Lani” Trusdale fled New York and settled back home to be with her father and to start up her own bakery store. Lani will feel that everything is falling into place until the man she had secretly loved comes flying back into her life.

Baxter Dunne needed Lani in his life. He thought he was doing the show which would help her store though it appeared everything he did was screwing up. Baxter would not give up on Lani but will soon find that she is not the same woman he knew in New York.

After reading the series Keyes Sisters from Susan Mallery which was about a bakery shop I picked up four books to Donna Kauffman’s series Cupcake Club. When picking up the books I hadn’t realized it but both series all are about desserts. This got me thinking of Christmas cookies that I helped make with my mom this past year and of course now making me want some of them.

So back to the book Sugar Rush from Donna Kauffman which is the first book to the series Cupcake Club. I thought it was a cute book with a simple story. Once you get into the story the characters are very well developed and I liked that Kauffman lets you into Baxter and Lani’s lives especially Baxter and how he got his start. I will admit I thought I would dislike Baxter due to Lani’s opinion about him but from the start he was a good guy at least from his comments he thought in his head. He meant to do things right but they always got screwed up. Lani needed to take a chance which she does with Baxter eventually.

There is an uplifting ending that gave Baxter and Lani a future on this island of Georgia and mentioned the next woman who would be in the second book Sweet Stuff. I am interested in how Kauffman will keep going with these desserts and if they are to be in the bakery or a new location. I will find out next as I pick up the second book.

Leave a Reply

