Sweet Spot

Sweet SpotNicole Keyes has had her world turned upside down with her divorce thanks to her sister Jesse while her other sister, Claire, has returned home. Nicole wants to change and live her life. She will meet Hawk and starts a sexual relationship but life is never that easy. Nicole soon finds herself saddled with a teenager and all the things that come with it.

Hawk saw Nicole in the bakery and knew he wanted her. Hawk was good at getting women to notice him but he never went into relationships. With Nicole it will be different but he will keep her from reaching that point especially when he has his daughter and star quarterback to worry about.

Sweet Spot is the second book to Keyes Sisters series by Susan Mallery. The first one was an onslaught of emotion at least in the first half but it was really enjoyable. The second book had the emotional onslaught in the second half when things started to unravel for Nicole and Hawk as well as Brittney and Raoul. I liked that Nicole and Hawk walked into this sort of relationship with their eyes wide opened. What changes is when Nicole finds herself seeing that she wants more. She changes more and more thanks to her kind of foster kid, Raoul. The kid Raoul I really liked. The parts where he interacted with Drew was comical and very sweet. I thought he was a great character who was thoughtful and was too good for Brittney but I guess it was young love. I hope that Brittney changes and becomes mature.

Back to Hawk and Nicole I did really like their dynamic together as they are both hard headed people but love those around them at least most of the time in Nicole’s case. Mallery does a good job at the ending when all the spoiling Hawk did for his daughter will come back to bite him in the ass. Brittney is not a bad daughter just spoiled. I like that Nicole doesn’t fall for his apologize the first time around. Hawk has to work at it which he was not used to.

I have to say that this is a very enjoyable series to read so far and I am itching to read the third and final book. I was happy that Nicole did not hate Jesse as much but I was unsure if she knew her ex husband and her sister did not sleep together. I guess I will find out in the third book with Jesse’s story which I am reading next.

Leave a Reply

