Lady Jenny’s Christmas Portrait

Lady Jenny's Christmas PortraitLady Jenny Windham craves to paint. It has been her passion for many years and she is now having the chance to go to Paris to give her craft a chance. She will get the chance to practice her art with another artist who is being commissioned to paint her family’s portraits.

Elijah Harrison has been a painter his whole life and his next job was to paint the children of this large family. Elijah will encounter Lady Jenny and notice her artistic ability. He will help develop her skill while becoming closer and finding more with her.

Lady Jenny’s Christmas Portrait is the fifth book to the Windham Sisters series. This is the first book I have tried from Grace Burrowes. I was told she is a very good writer and thought to give this one a try. This one was chosen due to the upcoming holiday. I don’t read a lot of Christmas books with romance. I have to say this one was worth reading. I felt there was a lot of back story that was before this story but you certainly could read this book on its own because Burrowes goes into this family and recaps with some history.

I think what I loved about this story was that it was written well and realistic of that time with also being just romantic. Lady Jenny would not be free to actually have a job as an artist because she was supposed to stay at home and have children and oversee her household. I liked that Jenny fought for what she wanted that she didn’t back down when her family was not as supportive as she would have wanted. Then there is Elijah who is a working artist. I liked his interaction with Jenny as they worked together on their art as it was sensual and enduring at times. They learned from each other.

After reading a book from Grace Burrowes I am definitely coming back to read more from the author.

2 thoughts on “Lady Jenny’s Christmas Portrait

  1. I really liked this one, Gayle. I just finished another Burrowes’ and will have the review up on the 9th. I’ve been making my way through her “Lonely Lords” series.

Leave a Reply

