Temptation and Surrender

Temptation and SurrenderJonas Tallent has lived for the life of London but now bored he has put his mind back on his country family home in Devon. He needs someone to run the inn and will find none up to the task until Emily Beauregard. He knows that she is hiding something and will be persistent to uncover it.

Emily Beauregard, but that is not her full name, is hiding the rest of her name so she can go unobserved in hopes to find what she is looking for. Emily along with her brother and sisters are in search of the family treasure that would restore their family to the status they once had. Emily has to be sneaky about it but finds it is hard to move around with Jonas Tallent watching her every move.

Temptation and Surrender is the seventeenth book and last book to Stephanie Laurens series Cynster. I really liked this book. I thought there was more life to this one and not so dark with the mystery. Mysteries with dark intrigue are good but I liked that this was a little more lighthearted thanks to the siblings of Emily.

The characters were well developed and engaging to read about. I liked Emily who did not see failure as an option. She was the caretaker of her family and was bent on doing everything she could to help them. Jonas was not the bored gentleman that left London. He was curious and put Emily as a project. He intended to find what she was hiding and would not fail. There is of course the lust that follows as they find themselves in one too many situations where they are alone.

The kids were a cute addition and had their own role to play. They were not just ones to be mentioned in the book. Laurens also adds a story for Issy and Joshua to find love which you could easily see coming but it was sweet.

Emily’s treasure hunt was the plot of the story and kept you moving along with the characters. I kept flipping the pages wondering when and if the treasure would be found. Now along with the treasure there was a villain. At first you think you know but the villain was not someone I saw coming but an explanation was given.

Stephanie ended the series well with this book. There are more books to read from her along with a new Cynster series called Cynster Sisters. I know that I will be coming back to more from Stephanie Laurens.

4 thoughts on “Temptation and Surrender

  1. Gayle, I’m reading Teresa Medeiros’ THE VAMPIRE WHO LOVED ME, the second in her Kane Trilogy. Also I read the first which was AFTER MIDNIGHT. Both of these are terrific. If you haven’t read them give them a try. Yes, I know this has nothing to do with the Cynsters but you are way ahead of me on those.

    • Dot I have actually read both of those books and yes they were absolutely fantastic! I have not read anything else from Teresa Medeiros but I know that I want too. Have you read anything more from her that would be a good recommendation?
      Oh and yes I am finally done with the Cynsters series. I really liked the series even with all the ups and downs.

Leave a Reply

