A Night to Surrender

A Night to SurrenderVictor Bramwell was not ready to give up his position in the army but now was given the title of Earl of Rycliff and given the task to set up a militia. The only problem is there are a lack of men in Spindle Cove.

Susanna Finch has made Spindle Cove a home for those who need to be rescued from society. Now her home is being disturbed by a new militia that is being followed by a man Victor Bramwell. She will not take this lying down.

A Night to Surrender is the first book to Tessa Dare’s series Spindle Cove which was a novel I could not put down. I loved this book. There is charm, humor, a little betrayal and of course lust. I have been told to read this series. I have read reviews and found them something I wanted to read. I had to wait for the books to get free from my library and now I have several of the books, and after this first one I know I will want more.

The plot is something that made me laugh. I loved the idea of Spindle Cove which was also named Spinster Cove. The idea of young woman who have been jilted, love the wrong man, need a cure come here to be free of what society thinks. I don’t think I have ever read a book like this.

There were plenty of characters within Spindle Cove. Dare focuses in on Susanna who was a very strong character who made this place for woman like her. She became the caretaker. I thought her past was interesting which came into play as Spindle Cove became her salvation. I was pretty horrified with what they thought to do to “cure” Susanna as a child. The other character of this book was Bram who was a soldier through and through but was very charismatic especially with Susanna when he was trying to seduce her. I liked instantly their banter back and fourth which quickly climbed to lust. Of course they were two strong characters who would not bend to each other, but the ending will give something for Bram and Susanna to be happy.

For the other characters they were all pretty interesting and will definitely enjoy reading more from them but I have to say that I did not like Susanna’s father. He was not a great father for Susanna. He appeared to not care and gets too selfish with his inventions. He does love his daughter but he keeps it hidden inside. Another person I wasn’t too thrilled with was Colin. He is not very thoughtful of really anybody except what he wants to do. Dare gives us a little something on his past which is intriguing and makes me want to know more. His story along with Minerva will be next in the Spindle Cove, which I can’t wait to start reading.

2 thoughts on “A Night to Surrender

  1. I thought you would like this one. It is a really good series.

Leave a Reply

