Me Before You

Me Before YouLouisa Clark was let go of her job and needed a new one quick to help support her family. Knowing nothing about caregiving she is given the job and will find out that this was not the average job. She will learn to live her life and try to save Will.

Will Traynor was an adventurer, he never thought he would be stuck in a wheelchair as a quadriplegic. He doesn’t want to live and for the next six months his caregiver will try to change his mind.

I have liked going to my book club because its a good way to read books I would never have thought to pick up. Once again a book I never would have picked up peaked my interest. I truly wasn’t sure I would like Me Before You and not because of the writing or characters which were both done well. It was the plot where you were wondering the entire time if a sad ending was coming. I didn’t wonder the whole time. I actually was being optimistic about the situation but had a feeling that optimism would be for nothing.

Now even though the ending was sad there was an uplifting part to the story. It was sad and funny at the same time and Moyes really stayed in tuned with her characters especially of Louisa and Will. Neither of them were acting out of character and did everything they did because it was who they were. I really liked that consistency.

I loved Louisa’s character with her fashion sense, saying what she thinks, feeling things too deeply and giving adventure a chance. You wanted her to live the life that Will was trying to get her to experience. Now Will’s character was not an easy man to handle. He was hard and bitter but you liked him. He was a good man who went through a horrible ordeal. You know what his plan is at the end of the six months, but hope that is not the end.

The one character I disliked was Patrick. He wasn’t the man for Louisa as he didn’t really care for her until it was too late and I was not sure he truly cared even then.

The story itself is very good and you are brought into the story pretty quickly as you learn about each character. There is some great banter that happens between Louisa and Will and of course some sparks but it is not really a romance novel. There is compassion, friendship, letting go, finding yourself, and yes love but it is not the focal part of the story. There is also sadness throughout the story obviously and it gets sadder as you go further. The story is a heartbreaker and I definitely felt the tears slipping down my face in several parts of the book, I couldn’t help it. So yes the ending is sad but worth the read because there is an underlining happiness in the book that brought a smile to my face even through the tears.

3 thoughts on “Me Before You

  1. Gayle, I just read this book this week and have a blog post review going up on Monday the 12th. I cried my eyes out but absolutely loved the book. I thought Will a selfish bastard, but could see his point since he was in such pain.

    • Dot your right he was really cruel throughout the book, but that didn’t stop this from being an amazing book to read. Have you read anything else from this author?

      • Not yet, but I have an ARC of her next book due out on August 20th. THE GIRL YOU LEFT BEHIND. I’ve been holding off reading it by reading the Mary Jo Putney HR LOVING A LOST LORD because Jojo Moyes’ Me Before You was too emotional. I needed a break and a chance to buy more tissues. 🙂

Leave a Reply

