The Perks of Being a Wallflower

The Perks of Being a WallflowerHigh school is a war zone no matter what social group you were in. Charlie will recap his freshman year in high school as many different trials he will have to get through in order to survive high school.

Alright now that is just a very basic description for the novel The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky as it is so much more. There are so many things that happen in the story that were part of high school and Chbosky made it realistic. There was trouble all around Charlie but he didn’t know how to handle it all but as a kid you keep going that is until you can’t take it anymore. Now I had not heard of this book until my cousin told me about it, but I didn’t think of the book until I saw the movie on DVD. With books going to movies I like to try to read the book first, I didn’t this time.

The story is something that I connected with immediately. There are all those emotions you can connect with at some point in high school and in life. As I watched the movie first my first impression in the beginning was that it was strange. It was a movie that just kept going almost like you are walking through a tunnel and in this case it would be Charlie’s perspective. At the end of the movie the big moment which you knew was coming burst changing Charlie’s life. It was in that moment I had tears coming down my cheeks. I kept crying for Charlie and for my own past moments in high school that were damaging for me at the time. My mom watched the movie first and when I asked tentatively if she cried, telling her first that I cried, she nodded and said, “thank you I thought it was just me”. I laughed at that moment but as I reflect at that moment it was like an attack of emotions bombarding through me.

So obviously I really loved this story. Now between the book and the movie I thought they were both extremely well done. Personally for me I liked the movie more as I am a visual person and you were able to see everything perfectly and feel those emotions. The book still has you feeling everything in the story, everything that Charlie went through. I wonder if I hadn’t watched the movie I think the ending would have affected me more, but still it was very well written. The book also stays true to telling the story in letters that Charlie was writing. I thought that was a good take on the story and to make it more personable to the narrator.

Perks of Being a Wallflower was really well done and I recommend readers to try the book and of course the movie.

3 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower

  1. B. Patterson says:

    Great book. I NEVER heard about it until the movie was available. I saw Emma Watson was in it, so looked it up. Read the book then watched the movie, and it’s my favorite movie to book conversion ever. Like you said, the scene at the end of the movie was very intense. Of course I didn’t cry but maybe… just maybe I got a little choked up.

    It was so great I told a co-worker about it and then she told her son about it! It’s too good of a book/movie not to share.

    What I like best about Perks is there’s a little something for everybody, regardless of which social group you belong to. And the epic line, “we accept the love we think we deserve.”

    • I agree that is an epic line. For me the story is timeless because as you said there is a little something for everybody with who you portray yourself to be. So everyone can connect to this story because they were someone in that book at one point or another.

      That’s great that you recommended the book and movie to your co-worker who in turn shared it with her son.

      • B. Patterson says:

        Exactly. I want to read it again in a few years and see if there’s relate to any of the characters differently.

        Thanks for the like and the follow.

Leave a Reply

