Sins of a Virgin

Sins of a VirginMadeline Valdan is a scandalous courtesan to the noblemen of English society. She will shock society by holding an auction for the suitor to take her virginity. The auction is unbelievable to everyone but bidders line the up. Madeline though is not all she claims to be, but she will make sure that no one will find the truth except for a bow street runner.

Gabriel Huntford wants to find his sisters murderer along with several other girls who were murdered. Every turn he took lead him to a dead end. Now he finds himself with a chance to continue with the investigation with his new job, protecting Madeline Valdan.

Sins of a Virgin is the first book to the Sinners Trio series by Anna Randol. I had previously read one book from her and I liked it but it wasn’t my favorite. Now Sins of a Virgin is not ranked up in my ultimate favorites but I certainly liked it better than the previous book. For me I found myself connecting more with the characters. Gabriel was a fantastic character that had fought hard in his life and things kept going wrong. Madeline had to hide and face many demons that made her cold and guarded. This was not a happy romance novel, it was darker especially with the murders. I did like that Randol gives us a conclusion on the murderer. The villain was not seen coming until the end. I had a feeling about the character but wasn’t sure what the motive would be.

I thought Randol does a very good job splitting the book into a mystery/suspense romance book. The mystery took over as spies were what this book was about. I have read book on spies who have tended to be more lighthearted. Randol does not make them lighthearted at all. The trio are all flawed and damaged from the job or what life has shown them. There were a lot of layers in the book that you kept having to uncover. I thought that it was interesting to make the trio two men and a woman. It gave diversity. I will definitely be looking forward to reading about the other two in the series.

Leave a Reply

