Return of the Viscount

Cecilia Mallory needed to marry to be able to control her money and take care of her brother and the estate. Cecilia imagined her husband to be an elder man and is stricken when she meets a young vibrant man. She will rethink the marriage to her husband but with every touch will send shivers down her spine. She will be distracted as she fears her life is starting to be in danger when accidents keep happening to her.

Viscount Michael Blackthorne was intrigued by the letter to marry his commanders daughter. As he felt he owed his commander Michael agreed. He was speechless six months later to be facing his wife he married by proxy. She was a beautiful woman and not an aged spinster he thought she would be. Michael will want to make this marriage real in all ways as every moment he spends in her company, but soon his mind will be on the accidents that keep happening to Cecilia.

Return of the ViscountSo I once again judged a book by his cover but it wasn’t for the picture only the name of the author. I thought it would be fun to read this author who spells her name as mine. When I was younger everyone of my friends and teachers would always spell my name Gail never Gayle, and I would hardly ever see my name spelled that way. So a few years ago I kept finding my name spelled Gayle of authors for their first or last name. This was the first time I saw Gayle Callen’s book and took in on a whim to read.

Since I had not read the summary page of this book I was pleasantly surprised how much I liked the book. I thought the characters seemed real like the relationship between brother and sister along with the only just meeting husband and wife. Oliver the brother was spoiled and guilt ridden which made his character interesting. You wanted him to grow up but as Callen uncovers the truth about Oliver you cheer for him. Then there is Michael who was very much the solider but who was also just a good man. He had hidden guilt which you can guess. Now Cecilia I really liked as she was a woman on a mission. She got things done and took care of everything. I was intrigued by the fact who would want to hurt this woman. Now the plot was simple as it was mainly about Cecilia doing what she can to help her brother. Callen brings in a sinister part when the accidents start happening. Personally I had no idea who would be plotting to harm or kill Cecilia so Callen did a good job at the surprise. I will definitely revisit Callen for another one of her books.

Leave a Reply

