Whisper of Scandal

Nicola Cornick has been an author I have acquainted with before but with only one book. I went to my library and found several books to be interesting which all happened to be of the same series. I like reading series in order but since these are the only ones available I thought I take a stab at them and revisit Nicola Cornick. I did though start with the first book of this series Scandalous Women of the Ton which is Whispers of Scandal.

Whisper of ScandalLady Joanna Ware is the darling of the ton and does her best to keep it that way but all is about to be threatened once again as her husband will reach her from beyond the grave. Joanna will be given a chance to take care of her husbands illegitimate child but she must cross the arctic to do that, she could not do this alone. She will be forced into having Lord Grant help her and she will be forced to feel things for Alex that she long buried.

Lord Alex Grant was to deliver a letter to the lawyer and be done with it but he stayed as the lady baffled him. She was not exactly how his best friend had described her as he found out the longer he stayed around. Alex will fight hard through the cold and danger that will surrounds them but will find it that feelings will change towards Joanna.

Since I have only read one book from Cornick I am not an expert on her writing techniques but I can say that I think she does a fantastic job on character description. When reading I tend to get lost in books, especially if they are well written. I found myself doing just that in Whisper of Scandal. Lady Joanna is by far my favorite character as she shows so many sides of her character but they are all the same woman. I love that she is brave and strong but almost broken from her last marriage. I wanted to almost cry as everything as her life was being torn apart once again by her dead husband. Cornick creates David Ware to be the villain even though he is dead. You will truly hate this man with how Cornick writes what he does to hurt his widow over and over. Alex was one you grew to really love. You knew he was not like his friend David Ware but he was still cruel with his assumptions. I liked how he changed over the book and found love and acceptance once again. Of course Cornick does put an obstacle once again in the couples path that leaves you to believe Alex is not our noble and caring hero as we thought he was but  Cornick will weave in a happy ending into the story which will melt your heart.

There are several side characters that drift through the book which I thought added to the drama of the book. I liked the Captain Owen Purchase who will be in the fifth book I picked up. Having him in the first book and getting to know him a little I am excited to know more and hope he finds that love he found with the wrong woman once again. At least someone who can love him back. I also liked the cousin Devlin as a young adventurer. He seemed like he was almost playing a role and that he would never get to close to any woman with his heart that is. Once again I looked ahead and found that Devlin is also to be staring in the fourth book.

Finishing up the story I wanted more from the author and the characters. I wanted to know where it would go. I looked ahead at the summary of the second book even though I don’t have that particular one in my possession, only the fourth and fifth book, I wanted to know who would be next. I found that it was Lottie the so called friend. I have to say I am not excited to read her book when I find it as her character was deplorable. She annoyed me throughout the book especially as she slept with Joanna’s late husband, well she sleeps with most and doesn’t care about feelings, at least that is how it is looked. Of course I am sure she will have redeeming characteristics but right now I guess I will stew in the  harshness of the character she has portrayed.

What I will say is Cornick does an impressive job on making you feel while reading the book and how the characters are not one dimensional. She is an author I would recommend and one to keep reading.

Leave a Reply

