The Ugly Duchess

The Ugly DuchessTheodora Saxby was not known for her beauty but was going to make something of her life. Then her life changes when her best friend asks her to marry and she soon finds out it was all a lie. Theo will resolve in creating a new life without a husband, one that is orderly but it will all come crashing away when he comes back.

James Ryburn was young and stupid to listen to his father. He ruined his friendship with his best friend and was cast out of his own house. James will lead a new life for seven years only to come back to the one he once lived knowing that there was no way he would abandon his wife ever again.

The Ugly Duchess is the fourth book to the Happily Ever After series by Eloisa James. I have to say this book was okay and it took me a while to get into it. Reading the summary I knew that there would be a downfall for James and Theo and it wasn’t something I was looking forward to. There will be a second part to the book which will propel us forward through the years looking in on what was happening to the characters as they lived separate lives. This second part took me a while as it was seven years to get through. I don’t love the characters at this point as I feel they are not themselves as they are not whole anymore. Reading this part I knew it was necessary for this to happen as they both needed to grow up as they were both too young. I hoped there would be a happy ending but it was starting to look bleak. I did like when they encountered once again as there was more feeling again to the book. Eloisa James will have a happy ending once harmony is back.

Out of this series The Ugly Duchess was not my favorite but as the next book to the series comes out I will try it.

Leave a Reply

