Kiss At Midnight

Miss Kate Daltry is on a mission to become her stepsister and meet the prince who would become family. Kate knew it would not work but would do it for Victoria. Kate will come to the castle but her getup will not fool everyone especially the prince.

Prince Gabriel is waiting the arrival of his bride and meeting his nephews soon to be bride. He will be stunned to feel an attraction to this woman, but he will be even more stunned to find out this woman is not who she is pretending to be.

Kiss at MidnightKiss At Midnight is the first book to the Eloisa James series Happily Ever After. When I found these books I was instantly intrigued as I love when authors take the classic fairy tales and remake them in their own words. Grabbing several books to the series from the shelves I made this my project for the next several days.

Now Kiss At Midnight is clearly the fairy tale Cinderella as you can tell by the picture and the world midnight in the title. I have read many stories on the remake of Cinderella over the years but I have to say I really enjoyed Eloisa James remake. There are several little twist in the book that I did not see coming and it molds how the story is going to be told. Kate is a fiery woman who speaks her mind and has a sharp wit  She wants romance but she knows her limitations and a prince is certainly not in that equation. I liked she was not one to swoon or to cry at a mere problem but held back her feelings until they were unbearable (at the end). She also fought the attraction to the prince whenever she could. That was funny as Prince Gabriel is not one to have someone ignore him. Aside from the proud prince he was pretty fantastic as he cared more for his own people than his own happiness. Throughout the book I hoped that there would be a chance for love but as anyone knows true love in fairy tales always comes true so I wasn’t too worried.

I thought this book was a great start to this Happily Ever After series. I don’t know if James will continue with characters from the first book which it seems all had been given a happy ending. So my bet is this will be a whole new story with new characters. Nevertheless this is a series I think will be very enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

