To Love a Princess

When I had finished the last series of the Douglas Trilogy I took a little break from Patricia Grasso. Now I am ready to start the series Karanov with To Love a Princess which is I think the first book or second book of the series Karanov. I am going off two websites, the authors website and fantasticfiction.com. But then I turned toward the dates of publishing and if I go by dates I think I will get the order right. Now enough about that and my little ramble.

Princess Amber Karanov needed to leave Russia this moment. Her uncle would no longer protect her as he was her enemy now. Amber flees to England to find her cousin who she hopes will have a solution to her problem, finding a husband and getting an heir. She will be given a solution in the form of Miles Montgomery. They will find a way together eventually as Miles will move past his own tragedy but danger lurks at every corner.

Miles Montgomery, Earl of Stratford has seen and been in love which was taken from him four years ago. He was cursed with a scar that left him deformed those many years ago. He knows that no woman would want him and he can’t bear to let another woman into his heart. He thought he could be safe from Amber but with every moment they spent together the more and more he fell. Miles though will not have a perfect love as a man from her past is threatening to intrude.

Completing my list of names, which I did previously with the other set of books, as these series tend to overlap on certain characters left me with no confusion.  With the last names of Karanov and Montgomery I was able to recall their family very easily. For me this helps letting me enjoy reading as I like to connect the dots.

So for me once again this was a tale of love that is never to be or at least it isn’t until our hero opens himself up. While reading this story I had a flash back to the Disney story Beauty and the Beast. Of course Patricia Grasso tales are no Disney stories. Yes there is a happy ending but a lot of turmoil is thrown into the mix not something children get to see with those movies.

Our heroine was sweet and determined but is new to a world where she can have some happiness  and our hero was almost the villain with his moods. In the story  the villains are several but you are not given the identity of all until of course towards the end of the book. You don’t suspect right away until it is too late.

Another fantastic story down another to go. The next one will now be with Viktor Karanov in Seducing the Prince.

Leave a Reply

