Good Girls Don’t

Tackling one series from Victoria Dahl I went back in search of another series. I found another trilogy in the Donovan Brothers Brewery.

Tess Donovan is the youngest sister of the Donovan’s and a partner in their family business. Tess is good at cleaning up a mess especially when it comes to Jaime but something will happen this time which will effect their business. Tess will be side tracked as she gets to know a certain detective who has all the signs of a bad boy. Tess has been warned but will throw caution to the wind. With meeting up with Luke and finding out who robbed them Tess is a busy woman.

Detective Luke Asher is in over his head. He hates the rumors that happen in station especially the ones about him and his pregnant partner. He knows he is not the father but no one believes him, and now that he has met Tess he wants them put to rest. But Luke will have other demons to battle with which might just get in the way of a relationship to last a lifetime.

I was insistently intrigued by the series but was sidetracked for a moment as the first book was of the Donovan’s sister as the series is Donovan Brothers Brewery. Of course there was no disappointment with the first book book far from it. I loved the brothers protectiveness of their little sister and the mystery behind Luke. The interplay with his partner was a good little twist but I had a feeling I knew who the father was, not the person but the type, and I was right.

Even though I was right the book did not fail to want me to keep reading. I didn’t put the book down until I turned the last page. The plot was nothing outrageously dangerous or full of mystery but the characters Dahl creates you wanted to know more. Dahl creates the family to act like one. There are problems, banter and attitude which comes from Tess of course.  I loved the inner demons that Luke had and how they effected Tess as it felt real. And through all of this you are pulled into the plot that is woven.

Knowing that I would have already liked the first book I had gotten the next two. Sadly I have work so reading will have to wait, but I can’t wait to find out more with Jamie and how he will make a change in Bad Boys Do.

Leave a Reply

