Violets in the Snow

Two years ago I had discovered some of Patricia Grasso’s novels due to my mom and her bookshelves. I went over a few of them liking Grasso’s style with the damsel in distress who has a little bite to her and the block headed man who is the seducer and always too cocky. I decided that as with most books it was time to start over with the author as even though I remember enjoying the books with all the frustration that went with it I can’t remember full specific details. I’m making it a project of mine to go back through all her books to refresh my mind of her stories.

I ordered several books of two series from my library and have received three books for the Duke’s Trilogy series. The Duke’s Trilogy was one I had not tried before and was excited to start Violets in the Snow.

Isabelle Montgomery never had a true friend except for her guardian angel. Isabella knows that a dark prince will someday find her and marry her but she did not think it would be John her guardian while her brother is away. Isabella knows she should not let her heart get involved but it is hard to do with every stolen kiss he gives her.

John Saint Germain did not want to marry again as once was enough but one look at Isabella and his first thought was he wanted her. Helping Miles, Isabella’s brother, might not be a chore after all. Soon John is trapped to be married to Isabella but life with her doesn’t seem too bad. Of course life is never easy especially as someone is trying to kill him, Isabella talking to her guardian angel and his daughter he never knew is shoved into his house.

I have to say going back to a favorite author is always a pleasure. With a good author you get lost in their words, the characters and plot. Going back to Patricia Grasso I was reminded why I wanted to read her books once again even if her books at times are a struggle and they are never quite the perfect romance.

Isabella and John’s story I will have to say had a few road blocks in the novel but nothing quite sever if I remember correctly how Grasso creates her plot. I really liked how she kept it simple and problematic especially when a little girl was thrown into the plot. Lily was a cute addition and gave the story more heart.

Grasso surprised me with a guardian angel as a character in the book. To me that made Violets in the Snow fall more into the paranormal romance category. This was not a bad surprise especially as the angel plays a big part to bringing the characters together.

John was your usual rogue with his woman but I liked how Grasso created him to have a big heart or open to love especially when you find he is not so oblivious to the guardian angel.

Isabella was a sweet naive girl who you couldn’t help but love to read about. I liked that she grew bolder though as I would hate for her to be quiet and weak minded throughout the story.

The villain was known pretty quickly but there are always hidden ones but they will only be revealed at the end and their motives.

No Decent Gentleman will be the second book in the Duke’s Trilogy series.

Leave a Reply

