Take a break and listen for the confession

Elizabeth Boyle was someone I was interested in reading after I tried one other book from her. As I read the back cover summary my interest peeked. This sounded like the regency romances but with adventure and sabotage. Confessions of A Little Black Gown is the fourth book in the series  Bachelor Chronicles.

Thalia Langley was a spinster to everyone. She had settled on that she would never marry even as her sister tried to find men. Thalia though will have meet her match in a vicar. She never would have seen it coming but this particular vicar is not who he says but then again Thalia is not as innocent as she appears.

Lord Larkin is playing spy again as a vicar to find the whereabouts of a criminal and who helped him. What Larkin did not expect was to find Thalia Langley to be desirable and perhaps even in the middle of all of this mess. Larkin will have to keep up his disguise but that will be hard as Thalia threatens to make him forget everything.

This story was not all that I expected at first. I found it hard to get into the characters to a point which is sometimes how it is when you read novels out of order. Since Confessions of A Little Black Gown is the fourth book of the series perhaps starting at the beginning would give you more insight into the characters. But once you got into the story it slowly unfolded and you are able to loose  yourself into the story.

From reading the end of the story I am interested in how the following book will keep with the problem Boyle presented to the characters.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.