Fat Free and Fatal

Fat Free and FatalSavannah Reid was always looking for work and her friend, Detective Dirk Coulter, and ex-partner on the force got her a bodyguard gig for a celebrity. Savannah figured it would be easy until dead bodies started to show up.

I haven’t found many mystery novels that I liked to read or wanted to read more after the book was done. I am always searching for something that peaks my interest with a who done it plot. I think I found something with the book Fat Free and Fatal. Picking up the book I did not know it was a continuing series from the author G A McKevett. The series is called Savannah Reid. I started the series at the twelfth book and even though it was a book in progress with the characters you are able to read it without feeling like you are missing everything.

So about the book, it was fun to read. The mystery had characters who were a little quirky. I liked the character of Savannah obviously. She was snappy with her comebacks especially with Dirk, had some wit, humor and was good at her job. I liked Dirk as well. He was the cliche of an overworked cop but was a good man. There wasn’t any romance between them but you can tell that there is something there and I look forward to reading about how it will progress.

The murder/mystery aspect kept you on your toes with misdirection and it wasn’t a doom and gloom type of mystery. There was humor and the mystery was kept lighthearted especially with the type of characters in the book.

I think that I found a mystery series that I like, now I just have to start from the beginning to see how Savannah Reid got her start. If the beginning is as good as the twelfth book then I will have a new series to read.

Leave a Reply

