Joyland

JoylandDevin Jones is a college student in need of a summer job. He will find one at an amusement park called Joyland. He will find work as a carny but that summer will change him forever.

I don’t read a lot of Stephen King novels and thought to give Joyland a chance since I kept seeing it on the new fiction shelves as I walked the library. Knowing that King is good at writing the strange I was prepared to understand that this book was going to be a little out there and not surprisingly it was.

The story takes place in this strange amusement park that Devin is recapping. He will find his life will be changed forever as his heart will be broken and find new meanings of life. The book reminded me of Water for Elephants with the carnival aspect but this had more of a spooky outlook to it. I did like the book as I thought it was interesting with all the characters that were part of the book. They were all woven into the plot well.

Things I didn’t like was Devin’s ex girlfriend. I don’t know why I concentrated on her but she was really annoying and the funny thing is I can’t remember her name. I just remembered that she was pretty selfish when dealing with Devin. I was happy that Devin was able to move on.

Finishing Joyland I know that I will keep going with Stephen King novels to keep trying them out.

Leave a Reply

